Student development and support division

ACCOMMODATION OFFICE
University of the Western Cape
Private Bag X17
Bellville 7535
Tel: 021 959 2568
Fax: 021 959 2671


RESIDENTIAL SERVICES

Residential Services

University of the Western Cape

Private Bag X17

Bellville 7535

Director’s Office

Tel: 021 959 2999

Fax: 021 959 2671

Email: jwanza@uwc.ac.za

Accommodation

Kovacs UWC Student Village


Contact Details:  kovacs@uwc.ac.za

Office: 021 959 9500

Fax: 021 959 9501

www.kovacsuwc.co.za



Placement and Administration Manager

Tel: 021 959 2725

Fax: 021 959 2671

Email: nmajola@uwc.ac.za

Student Housing Manager

Tel: 021 959 3912

Fax: 021 959 2671

Email: jsihawu@uwc.ac.za

ResLife Manager

Tel: 021 959 3631

Fax: 021 959 9332

Email: gandipatin@uwc.ac

General Enquiries

Tel: 021 959 2569

Fax: 021 959 2671

Email: resservices1@uwc.ac.za


OFFICE FOR STUDENT DEVELOPMENT

Manager: Winston Middleton, Email : wmiddleton@uwc.ac.za

Coordinator: Careers Service, Nazrana Parker, Email : cdp@uwc.ac.za

Administrative Assistant – Programmes: Natalie Marrion, Email : studev@uwc.ac.za

Tel: 021 959 2436

Location  Level 1, University Centre, next to cafeteria/lift


STUDENT HEALTH SERVICES
Head of department: Dr DH Bagwandeen
Medical officer: Dr Jo-Anne Kirby
Professional nurses: Sr V Prince, Sr A Colville
Practice manager: Mrs M C Abrahams
Receptionist: Mrs A Jansen
Receptionist/accounts clerk: Mrs K Thorne and Mrs M Adams


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE COUNCIL
University of the Western Cape
Private Bag X17, Bellville 7535
Tel: 021 959 2738


POLITICAL SOCIETIES
AZASCO (Azanian Student Convention)
Kopanang
PASO (Pan-Africanist Student Organisation)
SASCO (South African Student Congress)
SSAC (Socialist Student Action Committee)
Student League


CULTURAL ORGANISATIONS
Creative Arts Society (with a lively choir)
Drama Society
Student Voice (student newspaper – adjudged best in South Africa on several occasions)
UWC Radio Society
UWC Theatre Company
Model Society


RELIGIOUS STRUCTURES
ACS (Association for Christian Students)
ACTS (Association for Catholic Students)
ANSOC (Anglican Society)
His People
METSOC (Methodist Society)
MSA (Muslim Student Association)
RSM (Restoration Student Ministry)
SCM (Student Christian Movement)
SDASSOC (Seventh Day Adventist Student Society)
TASA (Twelve Apostles Association)
YCS (Young Christian Students)


UWC SPORTS ADMINISTRATION

Private Bag X17
Bellville 7535

General contact: 021 959 2548/9732

Achilles, Cedric / E2017 / Manager: Support Services / cachilles@uwc.ac.za
Alexander, Frederick  / E2548 / Ground Staff / falexander@uwc.ac.za
Andreas, Wynand / E2318 / Swimming Pool Staff / wandreas@uwc.ac.za
Barends, Hayward / E2023 / Project Coordinator /  hmbarends@uwc.ac.za
Bentley, Glen / E2318 / Sport Administrator Boxing, Aquatics / gbentley@uwc.ac.za
Cloete, Elmien / E2791/ Sport Administrator Netball, Volleyball / ecloete@uwc.ac.za
Daniels, Margo / E2548 / Driver / mdaniels@uwc.ac.za
Director of Sport / E2207 / Vacant igroenewald@uwc.ac.za
Heyns, Adrian / E2980 / Sport Administrator Dance Sport (Rugby) / aheyns@uwc.ac.za
Hulley, Gio / E3534 / Administrative Rugby Assistant / 2772395@uwc.ac.za
Hyster, Damoen / E3737 Driver / dhyster@uwc.ac.za
Januarie, Erens / E2548 / Driver / ejanuarie@uwc.ac.za
Jones, Timothy / E2348 / Sport Administrator Squash / tjones@uwc.ac.za
Kensley, Colin / E3675 / Facility Supervisor / ckensley@uwc.ac.za
Langeveld, Avril / E9732 / Administrative Officer / alangeveld@uwc.ac.za
Mgulwa, Nadia / E2548 / Sport Assistance / nmgulwa@uwc.ac.za
Orderson, D Mr / E2018 / Senior Sport Administrator Campus Recreation Program and Sport Council / dorderson@uwc.ac.za
Swarts, J Mr / E2548 / Ground Staff / jswarts@uwc.ac.za
Volkwyn, H Mr / E2056 / Sport Administrator Athletics / hvolkwyn@uwc.ac.za
Wrankmore, A Mr / E3449 / Sport Administrator Cricket, Hockey / awrankmore@uwc.ac.za
Wyngaard, EA Mr / E3131 / Sport Administrator chess, Football, Golf / ewyngaard@uwc.ac.za



STUDENT FINANCIAL AID OFFICE

Mr. M Kwatsha – Head (Financial Aid)

Helpdesk (For all general enquiries)

Tel. 021 959 9753/2737

National Student Financial Aid Scheme(Nsfas)

Tel. 021 959 3114/9372/3670/2310/9707

E-mail:  finaid@uwc.ac.za

Bursaries from National and Provincial government

Ms J Ontong

Tel. 021 959 9754

E-mail:  jontong@uwc.ac.za

Ms N Malamlela

Tel. 021 959 3157

E-mail:  nmalamlela@uwc.ac.za

Undergraduate corporate and NGO funding

Ms Rhona Erasmus

Tel. 021 959 3059

E-Mail:  rerasmus@uwc.ac.za

Postgraduate Scholarships and First Year Merit Awards

Mr E Johnson

Tel. 021 959 3338

E-mail:  ejohnson@uwc.ac.za


STUDENT DISCIPLINE
Proctor: Adv. P Pillay
Legal administrator: Ms K Mentoor
Senior investigating officer: Mr E Charles
Location: Senate Building, Room 22
Contact details:
Tel: 021 959 3445
Fax: 021 959 1254


CENTRE FOR STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES

Student Development and Support Division

Director of the Centre for Student Support Services – Dr Birgit Schreiber (PhD)

Tel: (021) 959-2299

Email: birgitdewes@gmail.com

Location: Room 229, Community Health Science Building, 2nd Floor

Centre for Student Support Services

Office for Student with Disabilities

Student with Disabilities Project Coordinator – Evadne Abrahams

Tel: (021) 959-3586 / 2299

Email: eabrahams@uwc.ac.za

Location: Room 211, Community Health Science Building, 2nd Floor

Centre for Student Support Services

Department for Student Academic Support

Academic Support Manager – Laetitia Permall (M.Psych)

Tel: (021) 959-2299

Email: lpermall@uwc.ac.za

Location: Room 224, Community Health Science Building, 2nd Floor

Centre for Student Support Services

Therapeutic Services

Psychological Services Manager – Shahieda Jansen (M.Psych)

Tel: (021) 959-2299

Email: sjansen@uwc.ac.za

Location: Room 228, Community Health Science Building, 2nd Floor

Centre for Student Support Services

Department of Student Leadership and Social Responsibilities

Leadership and Social Responsibilities Manager – Tonia Overmeyer (MBA)

Tel: (021) 959-9481

Email: tovermeyer@uwc.ac.za

Location: 3rd Floor, Student Centre

Centre for Student Support Services

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work! Please upgrade today!